republican party

Call for Nominations – STANDING OVATION Awards Gala

The Awards
Honors movers and shakers in the community, business and government who promote the mission and ideals of the RIGOP:
RI GOP Hall of Fame Inductee (3) – Lifetime Achievement:
Rhode Island GOP’s highest award was established in 2016 to recognize the men and women who have contributed their talents and energies to the betterment of our citizens across the state and the Republican Party. This award honors Republicans that served our state with honesty, integrity and compassion.     Throughout their years of service they have been associated with principles that enhance Rhode Island and create opportunities for all its people. Their service has been a credit to the Party and their efforts worthy of recognition.
Nominees are welcome from all sectors of public service and must be a registered Republican. Former elected officials must be retired from their positions for a minimum of four years to be considered.
Past Recipients Include:
Lincoln Almond – Governor and State Attorney; John H. Chafee Governor- Governor and US Senator; Susan Farmer – Secretary of State / First woman elected to statewide office; Bradford Gorham – RI House Minority Leader, State Chair, Candidate; Nancy Mayer – Two terms State Treasurer, modernized RI cash pension system; J. William Middendorf –Ambassador; Eileen Slocum – RI National Committee Woman; Arlene Violet – First female Attorney General in the United States; Fred Lippett – House Minority Leader; Ron Machtley – US Congressman; Norma Willis – RIGOP Chair; Lila Sapinsley – RI Senate Minority Leader
Constituent Whisperer Award (3 max):
Recognizes model local legislators / staff who go above and beyond to advocate for and respond to constituent concerns. A nominee for each of the following categories can be placed into consideration: City or Town Council; School Committee; State or Federal Office.
Oliver Hazard Perry “Never Give Up the Ship” Award (1):
Recognizes the efforts of an individual or group who are committed to a specific ideal and have continued their efforts year in and year out to promote legislation, attend rallies, work with legislators, etc. on behalf of their cause.
Needle Mover Award (1):
Recognizes an individual whose compelling and unfailing actions promote Republican ideals, policies and candidates.
High Five Award (1):
Recognizes an individual who gives their time and talent to volunteer in support of a candidate or cause.
Samuel Slater Eye on Innovation Award (1):
Legislator who demonstrates collaborative and new thinking. An individual who challenges status quo and advances new initiatives/policies to better RI and good government. Celebrates those who do things in an innovative fashion with fantastic results.
Crushing It Award (1):
Recognizes a Young Republican and their efforts to communicate and expand GOP policies and principles.
Shoe Leather Award (1):
Recognizes an individual who provided choice on the ballot – throwing their name in consideration for elected office in an effort to raise community dialogue and offer accountability for the legislative role.
Call for Nominations:
Nominations are now open!
Join us in celebrating the contributions and achievements of people who help promote RIGOP ideals and good government.
Who deserves an award?
The awards recognize the achievements and contributions of individuals, businesses and organizations who promote Republican principles, candidates and initiatives throughout the Ocean State.
Nominate someone!
Please take the time to nominate a friend, colleague, legislator, business, organization or volunteer who deserves to be celebrated! We are encouraging nominations of individuals or organizations whose accomplishments have yet to be publicly acknowledged. The Hall of Fame nominees would be the exception to this suggestion.
Nominate Early!
In order to encourage and increase the number of nominations an early bird deadline for nominations submissions has been chosen. Nominees who submit all required forms and nomination information by midnight July 1, 2019 will be entered into a draw for two free tickets to the Awards Gala. Good luck to all the early birds! Nominations are now open!
Final Nomination Deadline: Midnight August 1. 2019